Friday, 28 February 2014

59/365 Sweet Things...


59/365 Sweet Things...

"When I got to France I realized I didn't know very much about food at all. I'd never had a real cake. I'd had those cakes from cake mixes or the ones that have a lot of baking powder in them. A really good French cake doesn't have anything like that in it - it's all egg power." 
Julia Child

Thursday, 27 February 2014

58/365 Winter and Spring...


58/365 Winter and Spring...


“When the winter comes, be very happy; because the spring comes only if the winter comes!”

 Mehmet Murat ildan

Wednesday, 26 February 2014

57/365 After the snowstorm...



57/365 After the snowstorm...

"The sun,--the bright sun, that brings back, not light alone, but new life, and hope, and freshness to man--burst upon the crowded city in clear and radiant glory."   
Charles Dickens, Oliver Twist

Tuesday, 25 February 2014

Monday, 24 February 2014

55/365 Nature Surrounds Us...


55/365 Nature Surrounds Us...

"Nature surrounds us, from parks and backyards to streets and alleyways. Next time you go out for a walk, tread gently and remember that we are both inhabitants and stewards of nature in our neighbourhoods." 

David Suzuki

Sunday, 23 February 2014

54/365 Grateful for thorns...


54/365 Grateful for thorns...

“Some people grumble that roses have thorns; I am grateful that thorns have roses.”  Alphonse Karr, A Tour Round My Garden

Saturday, 22 February 2014

Friday, 21 February 2014

52/365 Joyful Enthusiasm


52/365 Joyful Enthusiasm

“Spring work is going on with joyful enthusiasm.” 
John Muir, The Wilderness World of John Muir

Thursday, 20 February 2014

51/365 Eyes Turned Skyward


51/365 Eyes Turned Skyward

“Once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.” 

Leonardo da Vinci

Wednesday, 19 February 2014

50/365 One good thing...


50/365  One good thing...


“That is one good thing about this world...there are always sure to be more springs.”
  L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Avonlea

Tuesday, 18 February 2014

49/365 Trains


49/365  Trains

“My heart is warm with the friends I make,
And better friends I'll not be knowing,
Yet there isn't a train I wouldn't take,
No matter where it's going.”  

 Edna St. Vincent Millay, The Selected Poetry

48/365 Do not be angry...


48/365 Do not be angry...

“Do not be angry with the rain; it simply does not know how to fall upwards.”  

Vladimir Nabokov

Sunday, 16 February 2014

Friday, 14 February 2014

Thursday, 13 February 2014

44/365 Mad with Joy...


44/365 Mad with Joy...

“People from a planet without flowers would think we must be mad with joy the whole time to have such things about us.” 
 Iris Murdoch

Wednesday, 12 February 2014

43/365 Love is our true destiny...


43/365 Love is our true destiny...

"Love is our true destiny. We do not find the meaning of life by ourselves alone - we find it with another." 
Thomas Merton

Tuesday, 11 February 2014

42/365 The Week For Flowers


42/365 The Week For Flowers


"For it was not into my ear you whispered, but into my heart. It was not my lips you kissed, but my soul."
Judy Garland

Monday, 10 February 2014

41/365 Wisdom of Jane Jacobs


41/365 Wisdom of Jane Jacobs

“There is no logic that can be superimposed on the city; people make it, and it is to them, not buildings, that we must fit our plans.”

 Jane Jacobs

Sunday, 9 February 2014

40/365 Hippocrates says...


40/365 Hippocrates says...

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food” 
 Hippocrates

Saturday, 8 February 2014

39/365 Love one another...


39/365 Love one another...


“If people did not love one another, I really don't see what use there would be in having any spring.” 
Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Friday, 7 February 2014

38/365 Spring is Coming


38/365 Spring is Coming


“You can cut all the flowers but you cannot keep Spring from coming.”  

Pablo Neruda

Thursday, 6 February 2014

Wednesday, 5 February 2014

36/365 Do Stuff...


36/365 Do Stuff...

“Do stuff. be clenched, curious. Not waiting for inspiration's shove or society's kiss on your forehead. Pay attention. It's all about paying attention. attention is vitality. It connects you with others. It makes you eager. stay eager.” 
Susan Sontag

Tuesday, 4 February 2014

35/365 Welcome the joy of life!


35/365  Welcome the joy of life!

“Find ecstasy in life; the mere sense of living is joy enough.”  

Emily Dickinson

Monday, 3 February 2014

34/365 Truth is the Torch


34/365 Truth is the Torch


"Truth is the torch that gleams through the fog without dispelling it."
Claude Adrien Helvetius

Sunday, 2 February 2014

33/365 No Line in Nature


33/365 No Line in Nature

"There are no lines in nature, only areas of colour, one against another." 

Edouard Manet

Saturday, 1 February 2014

32/365 A World in Change


32/365  A World in Change

“In a world of change, the learners shall inherit the earth, while the learned shall find themselves perfectly suited for a world that no longer exists.” 
Eric Hoffer